Martin Sheen Once Said…

Ramón Gerard Antonio Estévez otherwise known as Martin Sheen was born on August 3, 1940). Martin is an American actor who has starred in many movies and on television. He’s also father to Emilio Estévez and Charlie Sheen two other well known actors who have a striking resemblance to their father. His latest endeavor is a Netflix series Grace & Frankie that co-stars Jane Fonda, Lily Tomlin and Sam Waterston.

I cannot change the world. The only thing I can change is myself. If I change myself, come to some realization, grow a little bit, maybe that’s the measure of change in the world I can have. But otherwise it would be a reflection of my ego and absurdity to think that I would ever change anyone or anything. I just do it for myself, because I cannot do it and be myself. – Martin Sheen

Many of us think that we have some ability to change the world that we live in because many of us are displeased with the way things are in this world that we live in. The truth is Martin has it right the only thing we have any control of is changing ourselves and our outlook on things. The only thing we can hope to do by changing the way we view things and way we are is that by spreading the word and showing people what we did and what we accomplished just by that and then maybe that person will look at how they see the world and how they are in it and want to change as well. I think that’s the key to the beginning of real change is admitting that you’re willing to change to make things better in the world. Do it for yourself and the other things will get better.

And there are so many people in the third world suffering so horribly right now, and we are so focused on ourselves and our culture that a lot of things are showing up in our culture that are making it impossible for us to focus on others. We’re so self-focused. – Martin Sheen

I believe that this was perhaps an older quote for Martin and that there are people all over the world that are suffering because of the coronavirus and its affects on our world. It has changed so much in such a short time. I think in many ways this has somewhat united the World with a common thread. We are all dealing with the affects of this virus and adjusting our part of the world accordingly. There are more work from home jobs. I recently started working from home helping the state of Ohio with a program that was set up in order to deal with the worldwide pandemic. We all feel similar in many ways, we are all unsure of how or what this is going to do and heaven forbid you listen to the news or social media. I’m not saying don’t follow at all but one has to really pay attention, read carefully, listen and keep an open mind. Seek the truth. Be part of the change not some asshole .

He’s not going to go out quietly. He’s going to rage against the darkness. – Martin Sheen

I’m not entirely sure what or who Martin was talking about or if he was talking about himself. At any rate, I am amongst those who aren’t going to just go out quietly into that night but rage or write my way through my darkness to shine that light that I have inside me for all to see.