Lady Gaga

Lady Gaga Once Said…

Stefani Joanne Angelina Germanotta is known professionally as Lady Gaga was born on March 28, 1986. Lady Gaga is an American singer, songwriter, actress, and record producer. At first, when I saw her in videos or heard her music I wasn’t sure if I liked her or not but I’ve listened to her music and seen her in American Horror Story, and in the movie A Star is Born which she co-starred with Bradley Cooper and Sam Elliot.

I want the deepest, darkest, sickest parts of you that you are afraid to share with anyone because I love you that much. – Lady Gaga

This is something that I feel about very close friends and me that I want to know everything that there is to know about you. The things that you have a hard time talking about, the things you’ve kept hidden, the things others don’t know. It’s a very intimate thing to have that kind of connection with someone else that you know things about them that they wouldn’t tell other people. There are some people who are privileged to have that access to my mind.

There is a lot of shame attached to mental illness, you feel like something is wrong with you … but you can’t help it when in the morning you wake up, you are so tired, you are so sad, you are so full of anxiety and the shakes that you can barely think … but (opening up about mental health) was like saying this is a part of me and that’s okay. – Lady Gaga

This is one of the major reasons I consider myself a fan of Lady Gaga is that she has tried to help our society with the stigma with mental illness. I remember seeing Lady Gaga and Prince William talking about Heads Together.

Lady Gaga & Prince William – Heads Together

It is important to be open and be able to have at least one person in your life that you trust and can talk with. Also, there’s no shame in seeking help with mental illness. I have post-traumatic stress disorder and I’ve been in therapy on and off for many years. I do struggle but I am trying to also combat the stigma that exists.

In this suit, I felt like me today. In this suit, I felt the truth of who I am well up in my gut… As a sexual assault survivor by someone in the entertainment industry, as a woman who is still not brave enough to say his name, as a woman who lives with chronic pain, as a woman who was conditioned at a very young age to listen to what men told me what to do, I decided today I wanted to take the power back. Today I wear the pants. – Lady Gaga

I too am a sexual assault survivor, twice in my lifetime I’ve had the misfortune to have that experience. The first time I didn’t open up about what happened for four and a half years through being bullied, ridiculed, beaten, and threatened by their friends and sometimes one of the girls. I became a cutter, I abused alcohol, I got in trouble but it wasn’t until I opened up about the sexual assault that things started to change. Change never happens quickly. It has taken many years, therapists, psychiatrists, medications, support groups, and friends helping to be able to be as comfortable and open about what happened to me.

The second time I experienced sexual assault when I was raped by a man I knew who was the husband to a person that I considered to be one of my best friends that brought back some of the past and helped me figure out how I was going to deal with the new situation. The man that raped me ended up killing himself in front of my ex-friend and I still have no contact with her. He took away a lot of things from me that day. When trauma like that happens to someone it resets or majorly changes who you are as a person because there’s no way of erasing it or going back you have to learn how to make that part of who you are.

It wasn’t until I went through my domestic narcissistic abuse situation that made me lose Dexter and Luna that things changed once again for me. The 4th of July used to be a sort of curse for me but in the past couple years in the changes I went through with this trauma has allowed me to re-evaluate things once again. I still get panic attacks, I’m still medicated, I still do therapy every week and I’m still fucking trying.

Lady Gaga – Million Reasons

This just happens to be one of my favorite songs from Lady Gaga because when someone is in a relationship whether it be a romance or friendship if you communicate your needs with one another and are open and honest than you know why you have that person in your life. They have given you one good reason to stay.