Rick Springfield Once Said…

Richard Lewis Springthorpe, aka Rick Springfield was born August 23, 1949. Rick is an Australian musician and actor. Some remember him as being Dr. Noah Drake on General Hospital but when I think of Rick I think of the music videos and his music that I grew up with.

I’m thankful for the serendipitous moments in my life, where things could’ve gone the other way. – Rick Springfield

I am also very thankful for those moments in my life. I have had traumatic moments and I have had moments that I hold onto because often I have captured them with my camera so that I can look at them and transport myself there. I often do in order to help me when I have moments when I am dealing with the traumatic memories and I feel stuck. I will take a moment, the most beautiful sunrise I ever seen and captured and remember everything I can about it. It’s an exercise in mindfulness and it works.

This is one of my moments that I hold dear to me. The sunrise in Corpus Christi, Texas was unlike any other I had ever seen. When I stepped outside to start taking pictures I was in awe of the beauty of it all but did my best to capture it.

I think it’s pretty bizarre, I think you look for music to help you through (growing old), and the music that’s strongest in your soul is the stuff you heard as a kid. I do that all the time. I listen to old albums and there’s almost a spiritual support there. – Rick Springfield

As someone that grew up listening to my parents albums, having my own records, watching Friday Night Videos, Night Tracks, MTV and of course radio I have sought out particular ones to soothe me through the tough times.

Rick Springfield – Jessie’s Girl

I remember being in elementary school when music videos were just coming out and this was a very popular song and video at the time for Rick’s, Jessie’s Girl.

I think good art does come from a dark place. – Rick Springfield

Personally I think that a good majority of many artists comes from the trauma we’ve faced in our lifetime. Granted with my photography tends to come from happier moments where I am putting myself in places to see and capture things. With my drawing/painting and my writing I pull a lot from the dark or trauma to help release it. I find it cathartic expressing myself with words because I have often felt and there has been times when so many words were trapped inside me just wanting to get out. I believe very much so that people who have anxiety and are unable to express their feelings or have difficulty doing so it comes out of your body as an anxiety attack… if you’ve ever been in a situation where someone is yelling at you at your job and it’s not appropriate and really not helpful if one were to yell back at the person when you have to bottle that inside or as you’re hearing it your brain travels back to a trauma which triggers the anxiety response. This happens to me but I have found many different things to help during those situations. Cold water with or without ice. For whatever reason I think it’s a physical thing because your body is shocked when you drink the cold drink to regulate itself. If you have anxiety and you have medication for anxiety attacks know that it is okay to take a pill to combat the attack. I have found that I fight taking the as needed medication for the panic attack but I think that’s just part of my nature. Just remembering and observing your breath and taking many deep breaths in and out, even if it’s only for a minute or two if you concentrate it will help regulate your system to help calm you.

Love Somebody – Rick Springfield

Rick has struggled in his life with depression since he was an adolescent and during an interview from 2018 he said this regarding the suicides of Robin Williams, Chester Bennington and Chris Cornell stating that he didn’t think “Oh that’s terrible.’ I went, ‘I get it.’ I get being that lost and dark.” I think many people that struggle with anxiety or depression can relate and I felt something similar when hearing about them. I understood how they felt so utterly lost. When that happens in life we need to open up to someone and hopefully that someone is responsive and will listen to what you have to say.