Melissa McCarthy Once Said…

Melissa Ann McCarthy was born on August 26, 1970. Melissa is an American actress, comedian, writer, producer, and fashion designer.

There is this weird thing about how we perceive women in this country. I would love to be a part of breaking that down. – Melissa McCarthy

I would love to be part of that too Melissa. That is part of the reason I’ve been writing more and more and expressing myself more. I believe that we have a lot of things to learn from each other. The perception of women in society has been skewed for many years either by the church, entertainment (movies, television, music) industry, writers, and of course government. If we look at history there have been many women who have been strong leaders and influences and the more we’ve been stuck in certain roles and women have decided to tackle those roles the wider the door gets opened for equality to not just be a good idea. It needs to be universal and recognized because we were all created equal.

Even when someone gets to looking like she should be so proud of herself; instead she’s like, ‘ I should be another three pounds less. I could be a little taller and have bigger lips.’ Where does it end” You just have to say, ‘It’s pretty damn good. I am right here at the moment and I’m okay with it. I’ve got other things to think about.’ – Melissa McCarthy

Melissa got this spot on I haven’t really met that many women that look in the mirror and love what they see. There’s always the woman that is struggling to lose a few more pounds, to have clearer skin, shiny hair, funnier, nicer, more polite, more of what every fucking thing you see on tv that skews what is real and what should be. I’m not saying we should be anything in particular but I think we need to be happier with who we are and more comfortable in our skin. We need to stop looking at Barbie dolls and magazines which have been photo-shopped or selfies which can be manipulated to get rid of all that we feel is wrong with us.

Everybody’s a train wreck in their own very special way. But there’s something wildly freeing about someone who’s unapologetic, who knows they’re a wreck and doesn’t even try to hide it, just bulldozes through life. – Melissa McCarthy

I don’t know if I consider myself as a complete train wreck but I have been one more than a time or two and I am tired of the times where I’ve pretended that I was fine and not feeling like a complete mess. I’m not a complete mess and I have done some major work to pull my shit together and it is a work in progress. I want others to learn from me so they don’t have to struggle as much or as long as I have.