Teddy Roosevelt Once Said…

Theodore Roosevelt Jr. was born on October 27, 1858 and died on January 6, 1919. Teddy was an American statesman, conservationist, naturalist, historian and writer, who served as the 26th President of the United States from 1901 to 1909. Some may ask why I cover so many presidents and it’s because it is one of the highest offices of the United States and I feel that this being an election year and me being a Libertarian that I wanted to bring more attention to many of our past leaders. I know it may be far fetched that my Libertarian, Jo Jorgenson would be the first female President but I’d be happy with the elections to include third party, to not just focus on the two.

Nothing in the world is worth having or worth doing unless it means effort, pain, difficulty… I have never in my life envied a human being who led an easy life. – Teddy Roosevelt

This makes a lot of sense to me I think that in life you find that things that are easy to do aren’t as enjoyable as things that are harder to do or take more effort. You get more experience and learn more if something is difficult to do than something that is effortless.

Every immigrant who comes here should be required within five years to learn English or leave the country. – Theodore Roosevelt

This is probably not going to make me the most popular person but I really like this quote. I feel that this should be something, our native language in the United States is English and I believe if you live here you should be fluent in our language. When we travel to another country they often require us to know their language so how is it fair to come here and not know English? Especially if you want to be a citizen of the United States, just saying.

Courage is not having the strength to go on, it’s going on when you don’t have the strength. – Theodore Roosevelt

I think that I’ve been more than successful at having the courage and strength to continue on multiple times in my life when I thought all hope was lost and I thought that I could not. It isn’t that I didn’t want to but I just didn’t know how to at the time and the thing is sometimes it takes longer to figure out just what it is going to take to crawl out of the depths of your anxiety and trauma. We often need to seek new information, talk to someone different, find a group, try something new in order to get out on top. I am a fighter and I continue my fight against my post traumatic stress disorder. I will not let my anxiety rule my life. I take my medications, I am still learning DBT (mindfulness) and I am still trying.