Wil Wheaton Once Said…

Richard William Wheaton III was born July 29, 1972. Wil is an American actor, blogger, and writer. I and many others likely remember him as Wesley Crusher on Star Trek Next Generation but later in life he played a version of himself The Big Bang Theory.

Sometimes we know in our bones what we really need to do, but we’re afraid to do it. Taking a chance and stepping beyond the safety of the world we’ve always known is the only way to grow, though and without risk there is no reward. – Wil Wheaton

I agree with this and it’s part of something that I’ve written about numerous times to teach people is that you have to take chances in life and step outside your comfort zone or safety net in order to grow. I think this is why I’ve pushed myself to do certain things in life such as moving to Texas and then New York City and back to Texas again. I was taking a chance in order to see something new, something different and try new things. No regrets. I wouldn’t be who I am today if I did differently.

Being a nerd is not about what you love, it’s about how you love it. – Wil Wheaton

I’m totally a nerd, I’m a Tolkien nerd, I’m a book nerd, I’m a genealogy nerd, art nerd and a gaming nerd. I will sit and tell you things about these and other things that I know or love until I see the glazed over look of unknowing or disinterest. Then I make my hasty retreat or try to change the topic so I seem less boring or flip the script and make your nerd come out to play.

The Lord of the Rings trilogy restored the balance of the Force after the Star Wars prequels ruined everything that was awesome about being a nerd at the movies. – Wil Wheaton

I’ve gone back and forth about what was better Star Wars or Lord of the Rings. It’s two different ball games and not even in the same league. I do love the Star Wars movies as well and being the Tolkien nerd that I am I love love loved how another Tolkien nerd portrayed the beloved novels…. were there flaws? Any other Tolkien nerd will tell you, yes… Tom Bombadil just to name one. However still I do think that one thing that LOTR did was put a spotlight on us nerds. Any Tolkien nerd has the extended dvd’s and has had a marathon watching them… we also have all the books amongst other things as well. And one day perhaps I shall read the Star Wars books… no, no I haven’t yet.